Applied Mechanics

Alfred M. Pettinger, Ph.D., P.E.
Senior Managing Consultant & Director of Mechanics
Phone: (949) 540-7000
ampettinger@esi-socal.com

View Capability Sheet

ESI’s Applied Mechanics department provides analytical services in the areas of solid mechanics and fluid mechanics. Our senior consultants have extensive multidisciplinary experience honed during decades of employment with various industrial, professional service, and research organizations.

Areas of Specialization:
Statics, Dynamics, and Strength of Materials
Fatigue and Fracture Mechanics Analysis
Fire and Explosion Modeling Failure Analysis
Simulation of Mechanisms Stress Analysis
Finite Element Analysis Kinematic Analysis
Heat Transfer Analysis Fluid Dynamics
Aerodynamics Thermodynamics

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Umberger, Pierce D., Ph.D.   Staff Consultant   pdumberger@esi-atl.com  

Georgia

Pettinger, Alfred M., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Director of Mechanics   ampettinger@esi-socal.com  

California

Wilkinson, John A., P.E.   Senior Consultant & Manager of Illinois Operations   jawilkinson@esi-il.com  

Illinois

Lewis, Mark A., M.E., P.E.   Senior Consultant   malewis@esi-tx.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Claxton, Raymond J., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of Dallas Operations   rjclaxton@esi-tx.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Stigge, Jason D.   Consultant   jdstigge@esi-ne.com  

Nebraska

Stern, Amber R., Ph.D., M.S.   Staff Consultant   arstern@esi-clt.com  

North Carolina

Stevenson, Michael E., Ph.D., P.E.   President, Principal & Chief Executive Officer   mestevenson@esi-atl.com  

Georgia

Winn, Robert C., Ph.D., P.E.   Chairman of the Board, Principal & Director- Aviation   rcwinn@esi-co.com  

Colorado

Sprague, James K., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Manager of Michigan Operations   jksprague@esi-mi.com  

Michigan

Morris, Steven L., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of Colorado Operations   slmorris@esi-co.com  

Colorado

Cameron, Kimberly K., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   kkcameron@esi-socal.com  

California

Novak, Gary J., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   gjnovak@esi-il.com  

Illinois

Kenner, Matthew T., P.E.   Senior Consultant   mtkenner@esi-il.com  

Illinois

Lorenzo, Fernando, Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Director of Houston Operations   fernando@esi-gulfcoast.com  

Texas (Houston)

Slane, Jean H., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   jhslane@esi-co.com  

Colorado

Rogers, Gary R., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of North Carolina Operations   grrogers@esi-atl.com  

North Carolina

Butler, Robert, Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Director of Commercial Vehicles   rjbutler@esi-co.com  

Colorado

Hayes, Michael D., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   mdhayes@esi-atl.com  

Georgia

Sanders, Steven A., P.E.   Staff Consultant   sasanders@esi-mo.com  

Missouri

Knox, Erick H., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director- Biomechanical & Safety Engineering   ehknox@esi-il.com  

Illinois

Kohlman, David, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal Emeritus   dlkohlman@esi-co.com  

Colorado

Richards, Amy E., Ph.D.   Staff Consultant   aerichards@esi-tx.com  

Texas (Dallas)