Applied Mechanics

Alfred M. Pettinger, Ph.D., P.E.
Senior Managing Consultant & Director of Mechanics
Phone: (949) 540-7000
ampettinger@esi-socal.com

View Capability Sheet

ESI’s Applied Mechanics department provides analytical services in the areas of solid mechanics and fluid mechanics. Our senior level professionals have extensive multidisciplinary experience honed during decades of employment with various industrial, professional service, and research organizations.

Areas of Specialization

  • Statics, Dynamics, and Strength of Materials
  • Fatigue and Fracture Mechanics Analysis
  • Fire and Explosion Modeling Failure Analysis
  • Simulation of Mechanisms Stress Analysis
  • Finite Element Analysis 
  • Kinematic Analysis 
  • Heat Transfer Analysis 
  • Fluid Dynamics 
  • Aerodynamics 
  • Thermodynamics

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Butler, Robert, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Commercial Vehicles   rjbutler@esi-co.com  

Colorado

Cameron, Kimberly K., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   kkcameron@esi-socal.com  

California

Claxton, Raymond J., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   rjclaxton@esi-tx.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Hayes, Michael D., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   mdhayes@esi-atl.com  

Georgia

Kenner, Matthew T., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   mtkenner@esi-atl.com  

Georgia

Knox, Erick H., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Biomechanical & Safety Engineering   ehknox@esi-il.com  

Illinois

Kohlman, David, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal Emeritus   dlkohlman@esi-co.com  

Colorado

Lewis, Mark A., M.E., P.E.   Senior Consultant   malewis@esi-tx.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Lorenzo, Fernando, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Process and Machinery   fernando@esi-gulfcoast.com  

Texas (Houston)

Morris, Steven L., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of Colorado Operations   slmorris@esi-co.com  

Colorado

Novak, Gary J., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   gjnovak@esi-il.com  

Illinois

Pettinger, Alfred M., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Mechanics   ampettinger@esi-socal.com  

California

Richards, Amy E., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   aerichards@esi-tx.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Rogers, Gary R., P.E.   Principal & Manager of North Carolina Operations   grrogers@esi-clt.com  

North Carolina

Rogers, Joshua C.   Staff Consultant   jcrogers@esi-clt.com  

North Carolina

Sanders, Steven A., M.S., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   sasanders@esi-mo.com  

Missouri

Slane, Jean H., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   jhslane@esi-co.com  

Colorado

Sprague, James K., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Manager of Michigan Operations   jksprague@esi-mi.com  

Michigan

Stern, Amber Rath, Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   arstern@esi-clt.com  

North Carolina

Stevenson, Michael E., Ph.D., P.E.   President, Principal & Chief Executive Officer   mestevenson@esi-atl.com  

Georgia

Stigge, Jason D.   Consultant   jdstigge@esi-ne.com  

Nebraska

Uchneat, Suzanne F.   Associate Consultant   sfuchneat@esi-atl.com  

Georgia

Umberger, Pierce D., Ph.D.   Staff Consultant   pdumberger@esi-atl.com  

Georgia

Wagner, Jacob A.   Staff Consultant   jawagner@esi-ne.com  

Nebraska

Wilkinson, John A., P.E.   Senior Consultant & Manager of Illinois Operations   jawilkinson@esi-il.com  

Illinois

Winn, Robert C., Ph.D., P.E.   Chairman of the Board, Principal & Director of Aviation   rcwinn@esi-co.com  

Colorado